Bethel is a Lutheran church. Lutheran followers of Jesus trace their roots to Martin Luther, who lived in the 1500’s in Germany, and started a reformation in the church to bring it back to the good news of Jesus and the teaching of the Bible. Bethel is a member of the Lutheran Church- Missouri Synod, (LCMS), so called because settlers from Germany came to the USA for religious freedom in the 1800’s, landed at New Orleans, and came up the Mississippi River to settle in Missouri. Synod is simply a word that means a group of like-minded people.

Bethel itself was founded in 1953, and has occupied the current site since 1965. The congregation has been served by 6 pastors in its 60+ year history. Lutherans are what is considered a main line denomination. Emphasis on salvation by grace alone, through faith alone, and reliance on God’s Word alone to direct our teaching and living are hallmarks of Lutherans.

Basic beliefs include belief in the Trinity, that God has revealed Himself as Father, Son, and Holy Spirit, acceptance of creeds such as the Apostles’ creed and Nicene creed, the use of two sacraments, Baptism and Holy Communion, and above all, that we are saved by grace through Jesus Christ and all He has done for us.

Visit our District LCMS Website for more information.